DWI Consequences

DUI/DWI Defense Lawyers In Morris County New Jersey

Parsippany Attorneys Fight DWI Charges

Being convicted of driving while intoxicated in New Jersey can have serious, life-altering consequences. Even a first time offender can face jail time, loss/suspension of license, and steep monetary fines. The courts are under pressure to show convictions, and prosecutors frequently push for maximum penalties. New Jersey DWI charges fall under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, which penalizes anyone convicted of operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or higher.

At The Law Offices of Smith & Doran, P.C., we are committed to defending your rights, and providing you with the most rigorous defense possible. This starts by understanding the seriousness of the charges you face, and the penalties associated with them. If you have been charged with Driving Under the Influence, contact us as soon as possible to begin your defense.

DUI/DWI Consequences

What are the penalties for a DUI/DWI in New Jersey?

1st Offense2nd Offense3rd Offense
JailUp to 30 daysUp to 90 daysUp to 180 days
Fines and Penalties$250 to $500$500 to $1,000$1,000
MVC Surcharge

$1,000 per year

for 3 years

$1,500 per year

for 3 years

$1,500 per year

for 3 years

License Suspension3 months to 1 year2 years10 years

Intoxicated Drivers'

Resource Center

12-48 hours12-48 hours48 hours

*Note: There is also the possibility of having to install an Ignition Interlock Device on your car for 6-12 months, this being a mandatory penalty for any Third Offense DUI.

Additional DUI/DWI Penalty Considerations

Along with the charges listed above, there are some additional things to consider when discussing the consequences of a DUI conviction.

  • Penalties are increased when the offense occurs on school property, within 1,000 feet of a school, or driving across a designated school crossing.
  • New Jersey does not issue restricted drivers licenses that allow you to commute to and from work.
  • A drunk driving conviction will cause your insurance rates to go up dramatically.
  • Pilots, teachers, nurses and others may lose professional licenses.
  • A conviction may bar you from receiving government security clearance.
  • If you are younger than 21, any detectable amount of alcohol in your blood will earn you an Underage DUI charge.

Learn about your options from our experienced Morris, New Jersey, DUI Lawyers

At The Law Offices of Smith & Doran, P.C., in Morristown, we believe that you should know the stakes. You should also know that although you were stopped and charged, you still have options. And as your New Jersey DUI defense attorneys, we explain what you are up against and help develop a defense designed to reduce the charges – or even eliminate them altogether.

Robert A. Smith of The Law Offices of Smith & Doran, P.C., is a certified civil trial attorney committed to building long-lasting partnerships with his clients. His goal is to provide personal but professional legal counsel by building a foundation of honest and open communication. Find out what your options are and schedule a free consultation today by phone at 973-532-2661 or contact us online.

Se habla español.