Driver’s License Suspension and Reinstatement

Driving With A Suspended License Morris County, New jersey, Lawyers

Morristown Law Firm Revoked License Attorneys

At The Law Offices of Smith & Doran, P.C., one of the most common offenses we defend is driving with a suspended or revoked license. Many people find it necessary to drive in order to get to work and adequate public transportation is not always available. Unfortunately, no matter how innocent or necessary the trip might seem, driving with a suspended license in New Jersey can have devastating consequences for you and your family's future. There are steep fines associated with the charge, and even jail time for repeat offenders.

At the Law Offices of Smith & Doran, P.C., we understand the stakes involved and are ready to provide personal and effective legal representation. We are ready to fight for your future while at the same time always maintaining an open line of communication. The lawyer you hire is the lawyer you get, every step of the way. Contact us online or by phone at 973-261-6254 today to schedule your cost-free consultation.

Causes for License Suspension Parsippany, New Jersey

Many New Jersey driver's licenses are suspended due to DUI related charges. Even a first time Driving Under the Influence offender can face a license suspension. Additionally, certain serious traffic violations call for a suspension of driving privileges. However, not every license suspension or revocation is the result of a serious traffic violation or DUI conviction. You may have your license suspended for reasons including:

  • Being in arrears in child support payments
  • Failure to pay parking tickets
  • Lack of car insurance
  • Failure to pay fees or fines, including traffic tickets, late fees or license restoration fees
  • Too many points on your license because of multiple traffic violations

Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License Randolph

The penalties for driving with a suspended license are determined by N.J.S.A. 39:3-40.

First Offense:

  • License Suspension: Up to 6 months tacked on to the driver's license suspension period
  • Fine: $500

First Offense (if Suspension is for DWI):

  • Jail: 10–90 days in the county jail
  • License Suspension: 1–2 years
  • Fine: $500

Second Offense:

  • Jail: 1–5 days in the county jail
  • License Suspension: Up to 6 months
  • Fine: $750

Third Offense:

  • Jail: 10 days in the county jail
  • License Suspension: Up to 6 months
  • Fine: $1,000

If you were driving on a suspended license in New Jersey and there are aggravating factors, enhanced penalties may be imposed. An enhanced penalty means a punishment that is in addition to standard penalties. They include:

  • If convicted of driving with a suspended license because of a DUI conviction, you may receive an additional $500 fine, have your license suspended for an additional two years, have your registration suspended and spend a mandatory 10 to 90 days in jail.
  • If convicted of driving with a suspended license because you did not have insurance, you may receive an additional $500 fine, have your license suspended for an additional two years, and spend up to 90 days in jail.

If while driving with a suspended or revoked license, you were involved in an accident that caused bodily harm, you may be facing even more severe penalties, which could include a six-month jail sentence. If that injury was serious or fatal, you will be tried for a third or fourth degree crime.

Contact our Morristown office today to discuss your Driving with a Suspended License case with a Morris defense attorney

Robert A. Smith of The Law Offices of Smith & Doran, P.C., is a certified civil trial attorney committed to building long-lasting partnerships with his clients. His goal is to provide personal but professional legal counsel by building a foundation of honest and open communication. To find out more about how we can help, contact us online or call us at 973-532-2661 to schedule a free consultation.

Se habla español.