Underage Drinking

Defending Morris, New Jersey, Clients Charged with Underage Drinking

Students at Rutgers, Drew, Fairleigh Dickinson, Montclair State, Kean, Princeton and all other universities in Central and North Jersey are exposed to great learning opportunities. These young people also are exposed to an abundance of social opportunities.

Unfortunately, their new-found freedom may have unwelcome consequences — including a charge of underage drinking. New Jersey is a zero-tolerance state. Because drinking is illegal for anyone younger than 21, any detectable amount of alcohol can lead to a charge of underage consumption and possession of alcohol.

Don't let one mistake put your child's future in jeopardy. For more than a decade, the attorneys at Smith & Doran, P.C. in Morristown have helped make sure that young people do not suffer long-term consequences from an underage drinking charge. Contact us today for a free consultation by phone or in our Morristown, New Jersey, offices.

Underage Drinking Charges

If you or a loved one has been charged with Underage Consumption or Possession of Alcohol, it is important to understand the letter of the law. These charges are governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15, the New Jersey statute making it illegal for persons under the age of 21 to purchase, possess, or consume alcoholic beverages. The charge is classified as a disorderly persons offense if it occurs in a school or a public place. The offense also carries additional penalties if committed in a motor vehicle including a mandatory suspension of driving privileges.

Underage Drinking Consequences

The underage possession or consumption of alcohol charge is classified as a disorderly persons offense. Under New Jersey law, a conviction for a disorderly persons offense can result in a maximum term of incarceration of 6 months in the local county jail and a fine of up to $1,000. A conviction will also result in a permanent criminal record.

Underage DUI Defense Lawyer

If committed while in a motor vehicle, the offense can carry enhanced penalties. The penalties listed below only apply if the driver is found to have a blood alcohol level of .08 or lower. If a person is found to have a BAC over the legal limit as well as be under the legal drinking age, they can and frequently are tried as an adult offender and can face jail time.

  • driver's license suspension of 30-90 days
  • community service of 15-30 days
  • Forced participation in Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) classes and/or a highway safety program

Contact a Morris County, New Jersey, Underage Drinking Lawyer

Our job at The Law Offices of Smith & Doran, P.C., is to vigorously review and contest the prosecution's case. With a track record of favorable outcomes for our clients who have been arrested for underage possession of alcohol, under consumption, and underage driving while intoxicated in New Jersey, The Law Offices of Smith and Doran, P.C., will bring experience and diligence to your defense.

It is important that you retain experienced legal representation when you're facing a charge of underage drinking in New Jersey. To discuss your case, contact us or call us at 973-532-2661.

Se habla español.