October 2014 Archives

HOW DO FIRST-OFFENSE DWI CASES WORK IN NEW JERSEY?

In New Jersey, first-offense DWI cases fit into a "two-tiered" sentencing structure in accordance with state statutes. These tiers refer to the suspect's blood-alcohol content (BAC) - the first sentencing tier applies to those with a BAC between 0.08 percent and 0.10 percent, while the second tier applies for those with a BAC above 0.10 percent.

A GUIDE TO NEW JERSEY FIELD SOBRIETY TESTS

If you are pulled over for a suspected DUI or DWI in New Jersey, you might be asked to undergo a field sobriety test. These tests are not legally required, and a separate ticket cannot be issued for your refusal. State law does, however, require a breath test, and refusing to comply results in an additional charge against you.

EMAIL US FOR A RESPONSE

Have A Question?

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

The Law Offices of Smith & Doran, P.C.
60 Washington Street, Suite 302
Morristown, NJ 07960

Phone: 973-532-2661
Fax: 973-292-9168
Morristown Law Office Map